Youth Laureate Award

Phantom Feather Press, in conjunction with Young NZ Writers, is proud to be a part of the:

The prize is for the youth author of an unpublished fiction manuscript to be mentored by a New Zealand author/editor and to have the manuscript further developed for publication by Eileen Mueller and A.J. Ponder of Phantom Feather Press.

The winning student will receive NZ$200 prize money, an ongoing in depth one-on-one mentorship with a published author/editor to bring the work to publishable standard, and a contract for publication (ebook and print), including five free print author copies. The winner will also receive a bespoke cover for their work illustrated acclaimed Australian artist and author David Schembri with overall design and layout by writer-designer A.J. Ponder. The winner will be announced in January 2019 and a prize-giving and book launch to be held at GeyserCon science fiction and fantasy conference at Rotorua at Queen’s Birthday Weekend in June 2019.

Submissions Open 1 July through to midnight 1 December, 2018.
More details on manuscript submission guidelines for the competition go to the Youth Laureate page on the Young NZ Writers website, here.